In the mid 1800s, Reed & Greenough was a Union Street feed lot serving the animals that gave Cow Hollow its name. After the 1906 earthquake, building materials were in short supply. We don’t know whether the materials to build the gin distillery at 3251 Scott St. were looted or `purchased, however the wood used was taken from the neighboring feed lot…including the sign.
Over the next 100 years, 3251 Scott St. housed distilleries, bars and restaurants. The history of this space and the history of our neighborhood help create the unique feel of Reed & Greenough.[/one_half_last]